You are here: ASTech > Engineering Library > Find > Databases by Discipline 
 
Databases by Discipline
 

The databases below are intended to get you quickly started with your research in the various engineering disciplines. They index journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.  For a more complete listing of engineering resources, see our Engineering Research GuidesSearch articles from the library catalog is another quick way of searching, but does not cover all the databases. Help is available at engranswers@cornell.edu and (607) 255-5935.

Engineering Field Recommended Database
All Inclusive Science and Engineering Indices
Web of Science, Compendex, INSPEC, NTIS, Google Scholar
Applied and Engineering Physics
INSPEC, Scitation (AIP journals)
Automotive and Transportation Engineering
TRB Publications Index, and SAE Publications and Standards Database (CD), Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
Biological and Environmental Engineering
Agricola, Compendex
Biomedical Engineering
Compendex, PubMed, Medline, Biosis, VIVO
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Compendex, SciFinder Scholar
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Compendex, ASCE's Civil Engineering Database, NTIS, National Water Information System
Computer Science
INSPEC, IEEE Xplore, ACM Portal, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Lecture Notes in Control and Information Science, Safari Books Online, Books24x7.com, Synthesis CIS Collection
Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
GeoRef
Electrical and Computer Engineering
IEEE xplore, INSPEC
Energy
NTIS, DOE Information Bridge, Compendex, Energy Citations Database
Materials Science and Engineering
INSPEC
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Compendex, AIAA Online Meeting Papers
Operations Research and Information Engineering
Compendex, JSTOR, International Abstracts in Operations Research
Theoretical and Applied Mechanics Compendex, MathSciNet, INSPEC
   
Other Resources
 
Business, trade and scholarly journals, newspapers

Business Source Premier, ProQuest Direct, ProQuest Historical (NY Times), Lexis/Nexis, Readers Guide Retrospective
Census Data
American Factfinder
E-Books  Knovel, Books24x7.com, Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Lecture Notes in Control and Information Science, Synthesis CIS Collection,
and Safari Books Online
E-Journals  see e-Journals title list
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill, CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Knovel

Patents

Google Patents, Patent Lens, MicroPatent, PatentFetcher, more
Standards
ANSI database of many standards

Technical Reports

NTIS (National Technical Information Service), DOE Information Bridge, NASA, Technical Reports Guide
Theses  
Proquest Digital Dissertations, Cornell Dissertations (selected full-text from 1996), www.theses.org
World Library Catalog
WorldCat (OCLC)